News Photo
CLC - Sat, Jun. 10, 2017

Lancer student-athletes have received Illinois Skyway Conference All-Academic honors, while three student-athletes will be receiving the presitgeous Dick Durant award.

CLC Athletic Director Nic Scandrett says that the academic success of the student-athletes is a reflection of the effort they put in and is something Lancer Athletics takes pride in.

"Each year we have seen our list of academic all-conference honorees grow, which we take a lot of pride in," Scandrett said.  "It's a testament to the hard work and dedication of our student-athletes, along with the Athletes Leading Academic Success (ATLAS) program initiatives."

Baseball coach Heath Cummings leads the ATLAS program and says that he enjoys seeing what the student-athletes accomplish in the classroom.

"It's and amazing feeling to see our student-athletes raise the bar high in the classroom," Cummings said.

College of Lake County Athletics would like to congratulate the following student-athletes on receiving All-Academic Honors;


Davin Gleason, Cole Jepsen, Brandon Maglio, Matthew Mason, Jakob Petersen, Justin Rivera, Austin Rothwick, Michael Schmidt, Kurtis Sippy, Matthew Wezyk


Samantha Beltran, Kayleigh McGovern, Jessie Wood


Andrew Daguinsin, Jake Parmley

Men's Cross-Country

Thomas Castino, Jeffery Meverden

Women's Cross-Country

Paloma Alcala, Kimberly Castellanos, Lluvia Chavarria, Dania Khan, Alyssa Weitkum


Brandon Borbath

Men's Soccer

Gavin Amburn, Daniel Giraldo, Denzel Mitchem

Women's Soccer

Sinclair Gunthrap, Melissa Pomorin, Brianna Rosales, Corryn Smith

Men's Tennis

Alec Munro, Joel Leonard, Joshua Leonard, Alexander Tobias

Women's Tennis

Sarah Adornetto, Alexandra Bianchini, Oksana Dushina, Charlotte Muehleman, Yulia Mykhaylovska, Jaclyn Sapienza, Brenda Zador


Monica Donald, Sasha Polich, Morgan Phillips

The Dick Durant Award is awarded to llinois Skyway Conference athletes that have the highest GPA in the conference. College of Lake County Athletics are pleased to announced that there are three student-athletes who will become Dick Durant Award winners.

Joshua Leonard, Morgan Phillips and Brenda Zabor will all be officially announced and presented  at the Skyway Conference Banquet on June 8 at McHenry County College.

Scandrett says that these student-athletes have represented Lancer Athletics better than anyone else.

"Brenda, Morgan and Joel are remarkable individuals that represented CLC and the Athletics Department better than anyone," Scandrett said. 

"Being a student-athlete is a difficult and time demanding commitment.  To dedicate themselves to their sport while achieving elite status in the classroom is a remarkable achievement.  They have bright futures ahead and we are glad we could be a small part of it."